Reflections on a Decade of Lost Dreams & Hope Through New Goals

Rediscovering Purpose

Hello & welcome to another story of a Cup of Coffee for your Soul

As a kid, I was a dreamer; I dreamt a lot.

I had big goals, and as I said, I was daydreaming all the time. There was one dream I always had since I was a little kid: I wanted to go to the USA for a long period of time, or maybe even move there. I was so determined about that dream; people thought I was crazy.

Talking about moving to another country at such a young age was something which was not very common where I lived.

I grew up in the countryside; people there lived a good but regular life. I always knew I wanted more. I also never really liked life in a village. I thought I didn’t really belong there, and I really had a hard time fitting in for a long time, even at school.

People thought I would be a dreamer and that I didn’t really care about reality. People even said I should stop dreaming and start getting better in school. What a joke, I thought. Still, it made me feel sad and depressed sometimes. Sometimes I even thought there was something wrong with me.

I sometimes even wished I belonged to the other groups and that I didn’t have such big dreams and goals for my future. I saw the life I wanted before my eyes, and it felt very real.

My biggest goal was, as mentioned, going to the USA for a longer period of time. The summer before my graduation, I went to Chicago for 4 weeks to attend an English course.

Now looking back, I really think I was such a young girl, but I just had to do it. I’m glad I had the chance and that my mom supported me in that decision because most people did not.

It was the time of my life. So after that, I just knew I had to leave for a longer period of time after graduation.

When graduation came close, relatives and friends would ask me what my plan was, if I would attend college or search for a job.

When I told them that I would leave for the USA for one year, they were so surprised, and I was just surprised and a bit mad inside. Hadn’t they listened for the last almost 19 years at all?

So even a few weeks before I left as an au pair to the states, some people really thought it was great what I was doing; they were very supportive. But even then, some thought I would be crazy and that I would not stay there for one year, that I would come back earlier.

Of course, I did not come home earlier, and of course, not every day was easy peasy. But I am glad I did it. It was for sure, one of the best years ever! I still dream about it a lot.

Even one part of me even had to do it because if I would not have, I would have regretted it forever! There is nothing I am more afraid of than regrets!

So, this was already a long time ago.

I was 20 when I came back after that year, and today while writing this, I am 30. Since then, I was kind of on a lost track, lost in the job industry, lost with my goals, with my life.

Don’t get me wrong; I had plenty of great times, great friends, parties, people I care about, great moments, and great travels. I do, however, miss something. I haven’t really found a new excitement and enjoyment. I was even so lost that I worked a job for several years, which made me really sad and sick.

Now I realize why I was so lost in the last ten years. I just had one goal my whole life since I was a little kid, and I made this dream come true at a very early stage of my life. I hadn’t even thought about what comes next, what I will be doing next or whatever.

It was just this one goal for me. I had this goal so early that I lost track of my next steps. I even forgot about it and found myself in the daily hustle of life while the years went by.

I am glad that I came to this conclusion now. Now I know what the issue was, and now it is on me to figure out how to reach my next big goals and dreams.

And I know I will reach them, also like I did before.

But now I will keep them mostly to myself, as some people might still think I am just a dreamer, a too damn big dreamer.

But if your dreams don’t scare you, they are not big enough!

Keep on dreaming and doing.


Katrin

If you want to become the best version of yourself, and life a more intentional life, this newsletter is for you!

We value your privacy and promise not to share your email address with any third parties.

We also encourage you to share our newsletter with anyone who may benefit from it.