How My Health Journey Unfolds during a Year in the USA

Hello & welcome to another story of a Cup of Coffee for your Soul

How My Health Journey Unfolds during a Year in the USA


As a kid, I had a big dream of going to the USA and living there for a while. I would spend my entire day dreaming about it, imagining myself going to school, graduating, and eventually making my way to the USA.

I was so passionate about this dream that people often called me a dreamer and unrealistic.

Even my own relatives tried to convince me that it wasn't a good idea and that I should let go of that dream.

Little did they know, I was dead serious about it. No one could convince me that it wasn't something I should pursue.

At the age of 16, I had the opportunity to visit the USA for the first time. It was a one-week trip to New York, and it was absolutely amazing.

I knew that I had to keep moving forward in order to make my dream of living there come true.

Just a few weeks after turning 18, I traveled to Chicago for one month. I lived with a host family and attended a language school. It was one of the best four weeks of my life. I even made friends whom I still talk to today. I fell in love with Chicago, and I knew I had to continue my journey to make my dream of living there come true.

So, after my graduation, people asked me what I was going to do next. I confidently replied that I was going to the USA to work as an Au Pair for one year.

This was the first time they truly took me seriously. I was old enough, and it no longer sounded like the dream of a little kid.

Finally, I had a plan to turn my dream into reality.

Working as an Au Pair was the easiest way to do it. It allowed me to stay in the USA, work for a host family, and earn a modest income (very modest, haha).

But it also provided the opportunity to travel, meet new people, and live there for a year. I was ready to go.

While living my dream in the US, I had a lot of free time to educate myself.

This is when I started delving deeper into the health, nutrition, and wellness sector.

I would read and learn about it every day, and over time, I realized that I knew very little about health or the human body. However, this topic became so ingrained in me that it turned into a passion.

I became aware that my own lifestyle wasn't ideal or healthy, and I knew that it would eventually have an impact on my well-being.

I was certain that I needed to make a change.

My thirst for knowledge grew, and I became obsessed with learning about all these topics.

This was almost 11 years ago, and since then, I have learned so much that it has truly helped me grow.

Even today, I am still committed to learning every day and figuring things out.

I find joy in understanding how our human body and mind work and discovering ways to live a healthier and happier life.

My goal is to also help others achieve this as well. It doesn't have to be complicated, but I know firsthand that it's not always easy.

During my time in the USA (been there now 6 times), I also noticed that the food was very different from what I was used to in Europe.

There was a greater abundance of artificial or processed food, and the sugar consumption was much higher.

This year truly changed my life and my way of thinking.

Not only did I meet amazing people, have incredible experiences, and explored new places, but I also gained clarity on the things I really wanted to learn about

Have a nice day,

Katrin

If you want to become the best version of yourself, and life a more intentional life, this newsletter is for you!

We value your privacy and promise not to share your email address with any third parties.

We also encourage you to share our newsletter with anyone who may benefit from it.